DJ 358

Live Like Goku

Jay Hildreth
2 min readDec 25, 2017

I believe I’ve said it before in a past post this year but if not I’ll say it again: Dragon Ball is one of the best animes of all time. I’m talking authentically the GOAT. I’d even go as far as to say one of the best franchises of all time. There’s so many elements to it that I’ll most likely have to make series of it to explain why. There is one obvious reason, however, and he’s pictured right above.

There are so many reasons to love Goku, which is probably why he’s so influential. The one that became apparent to me in the episodes of Dragon Ball Super (DBS) I watched tonight, was to not just strive to always get better, but to do so by always seeking out new experiences, new opportunities. The spectrum of Goku’s experiences is so wide because they have taken him across the cosmos and back, time and time again.

And the thing is that he’s completely open to that. He’s always looking for the next opportunity to get stronger or test his strength. When he remerged after fighting Frieza for the first time, he showed that he learned how to teleport on Planet Yardrat (like…what?). In an early episode of DBS, Goku jumps at the chance to train with Whis, an angel of Death and right hand to Beerus who’s been training Vegeta in secret. Also to complement this attitude, with Goku, there’s only upside. In his mind, he can only go up and that’s all he’s ever focused on.

There’s a lot of lessons to be learned from Goku. I’ve been reading DBZ since the fifth grade, soaking them up whether I realized it or not. Somehow, this one took me a little longer to figure out.

Well, I’m aware of it now. Being open is an essential key to growth.

Peace,

J

--

--